May 4, 2019

  • Forgiveness

    "God asked me that question one day, very difficult. On June 17, 2015, a young white supremacist named Dylann Roof killed my wife and eight people at Emanuel Church in Charleston, South Carolina," Rev. Thompson recalled. "And God asked me, He said to me, 'Can you love Dylann? Can you love that man who killed your wife?'"
    "Forty-eight hours after that horrific tragedy, I was at Dylan Roof’s bond hearing, and I had to answer God’s question," the pastor said. "It haunted me, and as I approached the podium I thought about myself and I said, 'God I am a sinner, just like Dylann.' And I said to Dylann, 'Son I forgive you. My family forgives you. But we would like you to take this opportunity to repent. Repent, confess, and give your life to the one who matters the most, that’s Christ. So that he can change your ways, change your attitude, and no matter what happens to you, you’ll be okay.'"
    ...
    "I’ve got to tell you, God’s peace is real, because after I forgave Dylann, I experienced God’s love, I experienced God’s peace," the black pastor said. "For the first time, I knew and understood exactly what it meant, what it felt like to experience the peace of God which passes all understanding."
    Thompson continued, saying God "freed me, He freed my heart, He freed my soul and body of the burden of bitterness, rage, anger, and malice. He healed me from the inside out, and I’m here to tell you that He took away all my burdens and gave me peace, peace you can have tonight."
    https://pjmedia.com/faith/echoing-jesus-this-black-pastor-forgave-the-white-supremacist-who-murdered-his-wife/

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments