December 16, 2006

  • fulness and emptiness

    From The Singer, by Calvin Miller (quoted in this webpage ) -

     

    He [the Singer] watched the human commerce flowing through the rough-hewn gates. Never had he seen so many people hungry for a living song. They jostled shapelessly, a mass of urban sameness. Each hurried after urgent unattended business, yet none had any reason for the press.

     

    The Singer sighed.

     

    Sometimes a child would follow in the madding throng. Already it appeared the youngster tried to learn the routine, manufactured steps of older men he mimicked in the way.

     

    "Hello, Singer," said the voice he knew too well. "Welcome to the quiet of the grove. Does the senseless empty crowd offend you?"

     

    "How did you manage to make them cherish all this nothingness?" he asked the World Hater.

     

    "I simply make them feel embarrassed to admit that they are incomplete. A man would rather close his eyes than see himself as your Father-Spirit does. I teach them to exalt their emptiness and thus preserve the dignity of man."

     

    "They need the dignity of God."

     

    "You tell them that. I sell a cheaper product."

Comments (4)

  • The issue in regards to my comment about the diversity of the church and of the community is that we should not just accept the status quo in regards to economic and social structures, which is what causes people to be compartmentalized. You are right that we should not seek diversity for diversity sake (it is not an end in itself), but we should work against structures that oppress and separate people, as these lead to injustice, further prejudice (separation makes it easier to be blind about issues and ignore them), and hate.  Therefore, there is a sin issue; structures can be sinful.  Essentially, I am not saying that we should have Christians commuting to go to church in the inner city so that the church becomes more "diverse" (which will not solve the problem)....we should have Christians living there, transforming that area and Christians working to allow others to come out to where they are at.  However, that does not usually happen, as it involves sacrifice (sadly, something pastors will not usually do!).  Hope that helps to clarifiy my thought.  I highly recommend the book as it explains the realities a lot better than I can.

  • I think I have to read this whole piece. One of my students quoted from The Singer before, and I had no idea of what he was speaking.

  • In respond to thinking about Babel and inner city vs. rural life, how would the idea of a city (New Jerusalem) in Revelation play into "God's design?"  Many would say that cultivating a city is part of the creation mandate of Genesis.  Not saying I think those but those are thoughts are I hear float around.

  • de ja vouz? i just heard this very same passage somewhere else... but can't put my finger on it. how frustrating.
    thanks for praying.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments