November 29, 2019

  • Saved

    Thirty years ago, November 29, 1989, I was lying in bed listening to a preacher on the radio talk about the importance of being "saved" by the Lord Jesus Christ... how to have one's sins forgiven, and receive eternal life guaranteed as a free gift from God, because of Jesus' death in which Jesus paid for our sins.

    The preacher said that this was extremely simple to do - simply ask Jesus to save me. I realized that I had never done this, and that it was something everyone should do.

    So that night I asked Jesus to save me. I don't remember the words, but I understood that I was a sinner and that He offered free forgiveness to me, and I just asked Him for it.

    Afterward, for the first time in my life, I had peace and confidence about my eternal status before God and about life after death. I was no longer trusting in my own goodness to make me acceptable in His sight, but trusting in Jesus' goodness. I had been "born again", adopted into the family of God.

    I've since learned more about Him, and more reasons to believe in Him and trust Him. I've seen my own sin more and more clearly, but His promise of forgiveness still holds. I've learned that God never lets go or gives up on His adopted children.

    "...He came to that which was his own, but his own did not receive him. Yet to all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God" (John 1:11-12)

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments