January 13, 2013

  • the expense account

    Luke 16 -  "8And his master praised the unrighteous manager because he had acted shrewdly; for the sons of this age are more shrewd in relation to their own kind than the sons of light. 9 And I say to you, make friends for yourselves by means of the wealth of unrighteousness, so that when it fails, they will receive you into the eternal dwellings. 10 He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much; and he who is unrighteous in a very little thing is unrighteous also in much. 11 Therefore if you have not been faithful in the use of unrighteous wealth, who will entrust the true riches to you? 12 And if you have not been faithful in the use of that which is another’s, who will give you that which is your own? 13 No servant can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or else he will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and wealth.”

      -- Jesus Christ

     

    Have you ever been the guest of some businessman or professor, at a restaurant during a conference or other occasion?   For a long time I was amazed at the generosity of various professors who would vie with each other for the bill at a restaurant, or a local pastor or church worker who would take me out for a meal at a restaurant.  Gradually I began to realize that while there was some generosity involved, there was also the practical matter that there was often an "expense account" involved, in which the professional would be allotted a certain monthly amount ("use it or lose it") to be spent strategically "wining and dining" other people in order to grow the business, make research collaborations, facilitate church fellowship/discipleship, or whatever.

    Jesus specifically recommends something akin to this, I think, in Luke 16...  namely, not only paying for restaurant meals, but ALL of our money and possessions are to be viewed as an "expense account."   My house, my car, my money, things I buy to give away to other people, everything, is to be used to further my (our) "ambassadorial" role in advancing Jesus' kingdom here on earth and spreading the delight of knowing Him.

    Similarly, while others might look at it as "generosity", really it's simply recognizing that my possessions are given to me temporarily as a stewardship... an expense account... "use it or lose it" during my years here on earth, to utilize as wisely as I can for one single purpose: to advance His kingdom and renown.  As Jesus said in Luke 16:12 above, "if you have not been faithful in the use of that which is another’s, who will give you that which is your own?"   The money I currently have does not belong to me...   this is a delightful and freeing concept.   I can spend as much as I want, as long as I'm spending it for the right projects and right reasons...

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments