April 22, 2012

  • Phil Humber

    Some cool quotes from Phil Humber (Chicago White Sox pitcher) -

    "I didn’t have that peace because I wasn’t looking in the right place for it. I wasn’t resting in the fact that God has my best interest in heart because I’m a child of his."

    "For so long, I was trying to make it about me. I was going to make it happen because of how hard I was working. ... But because of the road I took, I couldn’t deny the fact that it was God doing it, that God had a plan."

    "[Phil says that] every time he walks off the mound, he prays that God would be glorified: 'As Christians, that’s really our mission. Wherever we’re at, whatever we’re doing, that God will be glorified in what we’re doing. And he can be glorified in our low moments or in our best moments.' "

    Taken from this article http://www.worldmag.com/webextra/19433
    Tim Tebow, Jeremy Lin, Phil Humber, wow, lots of public giving-credit-to Jesus Christ from the sports world this year!  May it increase yet more... and from all spheres of society...

Comments (3)

  • "And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. For I tell you, they have received their reward in full."

    - Jesus.

  • @agnophilo - Yes... hopefully their public statements are a mere 'tip-of-the-iceberg' when it comes to their relationship with God... hopefully there is a lot of secret prayer happening between these people and God...  

  • @tim223 - Praying for the cameras is not what christ taught.

    And ironically when obama refuses to do so (but doesn't make a stink about it) and humbly says he will pray at home on the national day of prayer he's attacked almost universally as not being a good christian (or not being one at all).

    The religion is so twisted from the teachings of it's founder.

    That's mostly why so many people hate it you know.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments