August 1, 2009

  • July 31st, 2009 -A glance back at the past two years and a gaze fixed ahead on Christ, the Prize

    "I went one day to Mrs. G----'s, just after she had lost all her fortune.  I could not be surprised to find her in tears; but she said, 'I suppose you think I am crying for my loss, but that is not the case: I am only weeping to think I should feel so much uneasiness on that account.'  After that, I never heard her speak again upon the subject as long as she lived. 

    "Now this is just as it should be.  Suppose a man was going to York to take possession of a large estate, and his chaise should break down a mile before he got to the city, which obliged him to walk the rest of the way; what a fool we should think him if we saw him wringing his hands, and blubbering out all the remaining mile, 'My chaise is broken! My chaise is broken!'"   -- John Newton, "Memoirs of the Rev. John Newton", p. 297

     

    For momentary, light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory far beyond all comparison, while we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen; for the things which are seen are temporal, but the things which are not seen are eternal. -- 2 Corinthians 4:17-18

Comments (1)

  • Those are wonderful quotes. I'm sorry I missed them when you first posted them. The 2 Cor verse is one I think of often, "momentary light affliction." I have to remind myself of that often.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments