June 23, 2009

  • Situation

    What would you do if you were in the following situation (it's not quite hypothetical...) ?

    The company you work for has a "no-smoking anywhere on the premises" policy that just started a few months ago...  Yet many of the employees, including some of your coworkers, but mostly employees and visitors you don't know, take smoking breaks throughout the day because they have some level of nicotine addiction, whether they admit it or not.   The route you take to walk home for lunch brings you regularly past a little secluded corner of the property which is a favorite for smokers.  When you thus walk by a group of smoking coworkers every day, do you:

    1. Say something like, "Hey, don't you know we're not allowed to smoke on the premises?"
    2. Keep your eyes on the ground and walk on by as if you didn't notice them.
    3. Smile and nod or greet them, knowing that your smile could be taken as either approval of their clandestine activity or as some sort of smug or sinister misunderstood-motive?
    4. Change your route so you don't have the problem any more.
    5. Send an email to Security telling them about the smoking corner... or call Security after walking past the corner to report the smokers.
    6. Leave "How to quit smoking" pamphlets lying around in the area.
    7. Some combination of the above?
    8. Some novel alternative?

Comments (6)

  • I have been in this situation before. The most important thing is your witness. When I was working offshore, my company adopted a policy of no smoking inside any vessels. Of course, this was considered crazy to the cajuns and ignored. On top of that, my office became the smoking room of choice. I was not in a position of authority but in one of quality control. I was holding the project to high standards which was rubbing the good-O'-boys the wrong way because I was backed by management. The smoking of authority figures like the captain and key project personnel in my office was an attempt by them to try and provoke me to making a stink, which was tempting considering my major problen with authority in general. They were picking a battle they thought they could win. On an offshore vessel, there is not much room for appeal. It was affecting me too, I was noticing mild nicotine withdraw symptom for the first few days on my time off. It all panned out, because when some ethical violations were attempted, my position was held in high regard because I hadn't been labled as a chronic whistle-blower. From my experience, I would recommend speaking directly to those whom you have authority over and as your official responsibilities demand, otherwise, leave it alone, there are and will be much more important stands to take, don't burn up you credibility on valid, yet insignificant complaints.

  • I'd vote for 8...some novel alternative.   

  • @interstellarmachine - Thanks ISM!   Good thoughts...

    Me too, Jerseyfam!

  • Ah, but WHAT is the novel alternative? Offer them nicotine patches, which shouldn't be hard to get, seeing you work at a hospital and all that?

  • I agree with interstellar quality control... something like no. 3 from the list above, if one is inclined to smile at people as one passes in general. If I knew some of the people somewhat, I might try to find a chance to comment.

  • If you would normally comment or smile at the people involved then you should continue to treat them as you normally would. If it is not part of your job to be the smoking police, and if they are in a secluded corner that is not harming anyone, then why should you care? This happens at the medical campus at my school too, but I don't know any of the persons standing about smoking so I just walk past them as I would any other person standing about. You can't expect someone to be able to end an nicotine and emotional/psychological addiction just because someone put up some signs to make it a smoke free workplace. On the other hand, if it is someone you know well enough, or someone under your authority, and you think they are really causing some kind of harm, then perhaps you need to address the situation.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments