January 9, 2008

  • Faith... for deliverance? or regardless of deliverance?

    Thinking today about the difference between David's "faith" and the "faith" of Hananiah, Mishael and Azariah.

    The former:

     20So David arose early in the morning and left the flock with a keeper and took the supplies and went as Jesse had commanded him. And he came to the circle of the camp while the army was going out in battle array shouting the war cry.
    21Israel and the Philistines drew up in battle array, army against army.
    22Then David left his baggage in the care of the baggage keeper, and ran to the battle line and entered in order to greet his brothers.
    23As he was talking with them, behold, the champion, the Philistine from Gath named Goliath, was coming up from the army of the Philistines, and he spoke these same words; and David heard them.
    24When all the men of Israel saw the man, they fled from him and were greatly afraid.
    25The men of Israel said, "Have you seen this man who is coming up? Surely he is coming up to defy Israel. And it will be that the king will enrich the man who kills him with great riches and will give him his daughter and make his father's house free in Israel."
    26Then David spoke to the men who were standing by him, saying, "What will be done for the man who kills this Philistine and takes away the reproach from Israel? For who is this uncircumcised Philistine, that he should taunt the armies of the living God?"

    ...
    31When the words which David spoke were heard, they told them to Saul, and he sent for him.
    32David said to Saul, "Let no man's heart fail on account of him; your servant will go and fight with this Philistine."
    33Then Saul said to David, "You are not able to go against this Philistine to fight with him; for you are but a youth while he has been a warrior from his youth."
    34But David said to Saul, "Your servant was tending his father's sheep. When a lion or a bear came and took a lamb from the flock,
    35I went out after him and attacked him, and rescued it from his mouth; and when he rose up against me, I seized him by his beard and struck him and killed him.
    36"Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; and this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, since he has taunted the armies of the living God."
    37And David said, "The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and from the paw of the bear, He will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine " And Saul said to David, "Go, and may the LORD be with you."
    ...
    41Then the Philistine came on and approached David, with the shield-bearer in front of him.
    42When the Philistine looked and saw David, he disdained him; for he was but a youth, and ruddy, with a handsome appearance.
    43The Philistine said to David, "Am I a dog, that you come to me with sticks?" And the Philistine cursed David by his gods.
    44The Philistine also said to David, "Come to me, and I will give your flesh to the birds of the sky and the beasts of the field."
    45Then David said to the Philistine, "You come to me with a sword, a spear, and a javelin, but I come to you in the name of the LORD of hosts, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have taunted.
    46"This day the LORD will deliver you up into my hands, and I will strike you down and remove your head from you. And I will give the dead bodies of the army of the Philistines this day to the birds of the sky and the wild beasts of the earth, that all the earth may know that there is a God in Israel,
    47and that all this assembly may know that the LORD does not deliver by sword or by spear; for the battle is the LORD'S and He will give you into our hands."
    1 Samuel 17
    The latter:

     14Nebuchadnezzar responded and said to them, "Is it true, Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego, that you do not serve my gods or worship the golden image that I have set up?
    15"Now if you are ready, at the moment you hear the sound of the horn, flute, lyre, trigon, psaltery and bagpipe and all kinds of music, to fall down and worship the image that I have made, very well. But if you do not worship, you will immediately be cast into the midst of a furnace of blazing fire; and what god is there who can deliver you out of my hands?"
    16Shadrach, Meshach and Abed-nego replied to the king, "O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to give you an answer concerning this matter.
    17"If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the furnace of blazing fire; and He will deliver us out of your hand, O king.
    18"But even if He does not, let it be known to you, O king, that we are not going to serve your gods or worship the golden image that you have set up."

    Dan 3:14-18
    So David was like, "You have taunted the Lord's army and you are coming to fight against me the Lord's warrior, so you are going to die."
    Meanwhile Shadrach, Meshach, and Abed-nego were like, "We don't know if God will deliver us or not.  But we will serve Him anyway regardless of whether He spares our lives or not."

    Did David have "more faith" than Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego?  Is one attitude more appropriate than the other?  Or is the difference due to the circumstances?  How was David so sure that God would deliver him?  Because there are certainly examples in which God did NOT deliver His representatives in this life.  (However, everything will be made right at the heavenly judgment.)  E.g. Uriah:

     20Indeed, there was also a man who prophesied in the name of the LORD, Uriah the son of Shemaiah from Kiriath-jearim; and he prophesied against this city and against this land words similar to all those of Jeremiah.
    21When King Jehoiakim and all his mighty men and all the officials heard his words, then the king sought to put him to death; but Uriah heard it, and he was afraid and fled and went to Egypt.
    22Then King Jehoiakim sent men to Egypt: Elnathan the son of Achbor and certain men with him went into Egypt.
    23And they brought Uriah from Egypt and led him to King Jehoiakim, who slew him with a sword and cast his dead body into the burial place of the common people.

    Jeremiah 26:20-23

    Many more Biblical examples could be considered where "God's man (or woman)" was faced with huge / life-threatening situations and 'the glory of God's name' was put 'at risk' or 'on display for God to exalt'.  Most of the situations involving specific recorded prayers for deliverance were answered, like Moses at the Red Sea and in the desert without water, Jacob before Esau's arrival, David fleeing from Saul, Hezekiah besieged by Sennacherib, etc.  Some situations involved defeat/death - e.g. the transition of Hebrews 11 from "successful" heros of the faith to "martyred"/"unsuccessful" heros of the faith in verse 35.  And Jesus Himself - fervently asking God to spare Him from death "if possible" / if there was any other way.  Yet God said "no".  (though Hebrews 5:7 says "In the days of His flesh, He offered up both prayers and supplications with loud crying and tears to the One able to save Him from death, and He was heard because of His piety"...?)   The situation with the church in Acts praying for Peter's deliverance is fascinating - they were praying for his deliverance, and God sent an angel to spring him out of jail, then when he showed up at the door they didn't believe that it was him!

    And how does this apply to us today?  If I am faced with very large challenges at my workplace, ought I to have "David-faith": "Since I am God's representative on the job here, He will give me success in this situation and put all my enemies to shame..."  ?   or ought I to have "Shadrach-faith": "I do not know if God will deliver me in this situation or allow me to be crushed/defeated/humiliated, but I will continue to serve Him either way, as long as He gives me breath." 

    Or am I asking the wrong questions?

Comments (6)

  • Hey Tim,

    I've been thinking a lot about faith lately too, especially in regard to things that I knew God had called me to, and the path he has me on. He's intervened many times to keep me on the path along the way, so I have been pretty confident of what he's called me to, and that he wants me to continue. Though lately, it seems like no matter how hard I pray, or how much faith I have, the prayers aren't being answered, and in fact, things seem to get worse. The usual cliches like "God's timing is not our timing" aren't satisfactory anymore. Of course God has his timing, but I have to operate on HUMAN timing, I'm running out of time, and God's not helping me here!

    In the examples you gave, I think that there's a lot to be said for the personalities of the participants, and not necessarily that their faith is greater or lesser or different. David had a warrior characteristic - God is with me, and I'm going to go out and accomplish what God has put in my mind or has told me. Moses was the same way. Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego didn't have that warrior mentality - they were servants in a court, and thus had more of a "passive" approach. They weren't as antsy as David, and were content to wait on God to deliver.

    I've also been thinking a lot lately about Hind's Feet on High Places, and how I'm like Much-Afraid sometimes. She gets to a point where she has to make a choice to follow the Shepherd no matter what. She has to get to the point where she will trust and follow him even if he were to deceive her.

    "Would you be willing to trust me," he asked, "even if everything in the wide world seemed to say that I was deceiving you -- indeed, that I had deceived you all along?"

    "My Lord -- if you can deceive me, you may. It can make no difference. I must love you as long as I continue to exist. I cannot live without loving you."

    For me, that last part sums up where I am at the moment.

    Will be praying for your job situation.

    Kelly

  • I think a difference between David and Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah is that David had a specific promise from God. He been anointed by Samuel and told that he would be the next king of Israel. Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah knew the right thing to do and did it. I guess a good question is would David have taken on Goliath if he did not have that promise from God? I think that he probably would have.

  • Interesting juxtaposition of situations... I hadn't thought to compare these two before.

    I think it's likely to be personality or situation -- maybe David was just blustering on top of knowing the right thing to DO, regardless of outcome. Likewise, maybe the fiery three were being thorough even though they had God's assurance of delivery.

    I definitely agree that we must first trust God ruthlessly, be led by his Spirit, and do what we believe God to be leading us to do, whether he leads us with a complete blueprint or just a footlamp. I think it's wise to look at these different people in different situations and see how they seemed to follow God's lead, and then not try to duplicate their action, but their attitude. I must ask -- or just know -- who God has made me to be, and be that person. Sometimes David's story may be more helpful to me as an example, while other times the furnace story will be more helpful as a model -- I've got to use wisdom and Spirit-leading to apply them well.

  • Tim,
    Thanks so much for the comment and reminder. I'm feeling pretty low today about finances and food shopping and all that. It's good to be encouraged.

  • i'm not sure if recognizing this as common phenomena among science labs is very encouraging, but the verses certainly were. I am curious, perhaps I've asked before, but I don't think so. What kind of science do you do?

    We talked about another person's faith yesterday in church, which I think goes well with your theme here. It is Jonathan's story in 1 Sam 14. The crowning statement is in verse 6. Jonathan knows that God is almighty, and has the power to save even if only one king's son and one armor bearer are ready to be used by him against many. But he also knows that God may choose not to act on there behalf.

  • So...how'd it go today? Praying for you both!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments