September 11, 2007

  • Sin Awareness Day

    If it is the Lord's will, I will be visiting Faith Baptist Church this coming Sunday evening....   I hope to see some of you there perhaps, and catch up with your lives!    My friend may come with me.   Please, if you come, come prepared to give me more than a trivial stereotypical answer to the question of how you're doing these days...  and I will try to do the same...

     

    --

     

    September 11th.

    I will name it this year, "Sin Awareness Day."   There are of course the memories from 2001... exactly where you were, what you were doing, etc.  There is everything that happened afterward... the cheering, the wars, the protests, the heightened global awareness.  The Fear.  The nameless Fear that will breed a global generation clamoring for peace at any cost, and a Leader who will pretend to give it to them.

    But there is also my own personal sin.  The deep, disgusting, wickedness that comes pouring out of my rotten, dead, heart, like the poisonous slick oil exuding from a luxuriously spreading poison-ivy vine.  I cannot rub it away by myself - it just spreads further.

    But thanks be to God that my sin has been nailed to the cross, penalty paid in full by Jesus Christ.  The poisonous vine that is my old self may look and feel alive, but it is actually dead - chopped off forever at the root by God's grace (not by my own attempts at goodness).   This autumn, may its foul leaves continue to wither, and continue to be supplanted by the new tree that God has sown in my heart.

     

    --

     

    "The kingdom of heaven is like a treasure hidden in the field, which a man found and hid again; and from joy over it he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field."  - Jesus Christ

Comments (3)

  • i had a very interesting political discussion with a very liberal co-TA of mine today. it was nice and calm. we agreed to disagree... still seeking more truth about these things...

  • You asked, so here it is! She showed me something she showed her class: a youtube version of Pink's "Dear Mr. President." After that, I was picking her brain about the liberal perspective (a representative of which she claims to be) of Bush, US presence in the Middle East, wars in general, the next presidential elections, etc. Then we got into our spiritual differences: I told her how I view my role at WSU (loving, and looking for opps. to share but not shove Truth, etc.), and she told me that she's equally as convinced in her Unitarian Universalist view of "God" and relative truth. We agreed to disagree. Something that saddens me is when I hear of how some Christians have treated those that offend/scare/disagree with them. I generally apologize and attempt to point them to the Bible and God instead of focusing on his followers... Jesus condemned the Pharisees. We ended with our common interest in loving our students and others...
    That sounds like a good discussion starter. I'll have to try it sometime!

  • Huzzah! Coming back to FBC, eh? Hope to see you there!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments