June 25, 2007

  • The "Obama Version" of the Bible

    "Somehow, somewhere along the way, faith stopped being used to bring us together and faith started being used to drive us apart....  Faith got hijacked, partly because of the so-called leaders of the Christian Right, all too eager to exploit what divides us.... At every opportunity, they've told evangelical Christians that Democrats disrespect their values and dislike their church, while suggesting to the rest of the country that religious Americans care only about issues like abortion and gay marriage, school prayer and intelligent design....  I don't know what Bible they're reading, but it doesn't jibe with my version."

    Who's the real 'hijacker' here?   :)    This deserves more commentary...  though I'm too busy at the moment.  Later perhaps.  What are your thoughts?

Comments (6)

  • I think Jesus should give rest to all who are weary or heavy laden, regardless of their political affiliation.

  • Where do the Democrates dig up these armchair Americans who have no clue about mainstream America? Obama needs to put on a hard hat and safety boots and go work in the real world for a few days to find out what real Americans think. There are people slaving away just trying to make ends meet while enabling this country to function. Most are not church-goers because they have to WORK ON SUNDAY, but many have terribly strong faith in God and love of country. Elitist silver-spoon carpetbaggers dare to declare what is best for people of whom they have no clue, while sitting their leather chairs, isolated by brick, steal, and chrome of a north-eastern city. America should be run by the same kind of people that make it work, but of course, it never works that way.

  • HFC, I appreciate your thoughtful application of my site tagline.  However, I'm sure you know the rest of the passage:

    Matthew 11: 25 At that time Jesus said, "I praise You, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that You have hidden these things from the wise and intelligent and have revealed them to infants.

     26"Yes, Father, for this way was well-pleasing in Your sight.

     27"All things have been handed over to Me by My Father; and no one knows the Son except the Father; nor does anyone know the Father except the Son, and anyone to whom the Son wills to reveal Him.

     28"Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.

     29"Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and YOU WILL FIND REST FOR YOUR SOULS.

     30"For My yoke is easy and My burden is light."

    As long as people ('regardless of their political affiliation' as you say) are taking Jesus' yoke upon them, and learning from Him, then they can expect to find rest for their souls...

    Regarding the Republican and Democratic party planks, while neither group can claim to be wholly Biblical in my opinion, it would be rather disingenous to suggest that both groups are equally Biblical...

  • Dear Tim -

    Ouch!  I believe Mr. Obhama may not be the man I would want in office.  I am discouraged at the rate of confusion and faithlessness that has caused our government to slide downhill.  Our Founding Fathers would be dismayed at the prospects for President in the near future.

    Our only hope is in Christ, alone!

    Hope you are well.

    In Him,

    Mrs. Swift

  • I agree with Obama about one thing: the religious right has placed too much emphasis on the issues of gay marriage and abortion while simultaneously ignoring equally important moral issues such as poverty, aids relief and global warming. Not that abortion isn't important (although I don't see gay marriage as cause for concern).  I think groups like Jim Wallis's Sojourners are doing a good job of putting pressure on the democratic candidates to talk about how they will work to elimate poverty and suffering if they are elected.

    However, its obvious that Obama is about as heterodox as they come. He belongs to the UCC which openly ordains gay marriage and gay clergymen! To me they are a bunch of lefties who call themselves a church. I wouldn't vot for Obama on this basis alone.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments