March 29, 2007

  • two political questions

    (I know it's unfashionable to find politics interesting... I apologize in advance to my friends who would rather hear anecdotes and cuddly life stories.)

    When does a "rebel government" become the government to support, as a Christian?  Two case studies to ponder - the American War of Independence, and the various "militias" and "gangs" "ruling" certain parts of the world.?  Where is the line between "protection money" and "patriotism"?

    Secondly, if you consider yourself politically liberal, don't watch this video... you might experience cognitive "ouch" that is severe enough to be hazardous to your health.

    But I watched it and survived.  :)    There were some thought-provoking elements, such as his pinpointing postmodern "don't judge (anything/anyone/ever)" as the key theme of contemporary liberalism, and his connecting it to various cultural elements.   I also appreciated his attempt to "look at the world through liberal eyes" and showing that the main value in the liberal worldview is "peace".   Peace, at any cost.   This does seem to fit with what I've seen in my liberal friends.

    I guess I sheepishly would like to hear some liberals' perspectives on his speech... though not for the sake of the cognitive pain the liberals would have to endure in the watching, but to hear "their side of the story" - is he right?  or if not, where does he go wrong in describing the liberal mindset?

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments