February 8, 2007

  • new depths of skill

    This is ridiculous.

    After finally setting up my breadmaker again and procuring all the ingredients, I rolled up my sleeves and put my prodigious breadmaking skills to work.   (I've made plenty of loaves in the past... the typical size of the finished loaf is ~7 inches high).

    I didn't have a good measuring cup or spoons, but that's never stopped me before.  I threw in 'just the right amount' of ingredients, added "a little of this and a little of that" as the token randomness, and pushed the Start button.

    Four hours later, my heart was crushed.   Solid un-risen densities rivaling particle accelerator cores.  On the bread scale at least.  At least my puny 2.4 inch loaf smells good.

    IMG_4283

Comments (10)

  • too much salt, I think.

  • haha! aww, i hate when that happens.

  • Oh how sad!  I'll see if I can't find a set of measuring cups to put in the mail for you! 

  • I've had that happen too.  The worst part is having to smell it and not be able to eat it.

  • Tee-hee! Or, tiny-hee! I make bread the same way you do, and I've not had this problem. I think it was your lack of yeast. But, how would I know for sure? I like to put in the warm water first, add the yeast, and then add a T. of sugar. It gets the yeast going.

  • aw, at least there wasn't too much of it to taste too salty... well, saltiness isn't such a bad thing, eh? ;) Better success next time! (my roommate asked, "Is he an *English person*?" when I read this to her. :) Nah, just multi-talented.

  • You could probably sell it as "European Bread." All of there bread over there is like that, it is just missing the round headlights.

    Jess is quite a bread maker, she has been on a sourdough kick lately and is looking for people to pass the starter onto.

  • have you ever made bread by making the dough in the BM and baking it in the oven?  I think it tastes better and isn't as "thick" in consistency....

    Sorry to hear about your mishap.  Maybe measuring spoons/cups are in order.  What kind of breadmaker do you use?

  • tim,  I'm sure you've done your mom proud!    ;)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments