October 1, 2006

  • Ad Veritas

    I discovered an interesting article about C.S. Lewis tonight at http://www.svchapel.org/Resources/Articles/read_articles.asp?ID=127   (actually I discovered several interesting articles, such as http://www.svchapel.org/Resources/Articles/read_articles.asp?id=54 , etc).   As much as I enjoy reading Lewis, I do agree with the critiques mentioned in the article.  It seems unlikely that any of us will ever "get it completely right" doctrinally and in Christian living.  But we can strive toward truth (ad veritas), striving to align our beliefs with God's Word, imitating the Bereans - (Acts 17:10-11) -

    "The brethren immediately sent Paul and Silas away by night to Berea, and when they arrived, they went into the synagogue of the Jews. 

    Now these were more noble-minded than those in Thessalonica, for they received the word with great eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see whether these things were so. 

     

Comments (2)

  • that is an interesting article. thanks for pointing it out. i remember reading some of those things in mere christianity.

  • Yeah. Very good. I was waiting to finish the Chronicles before I replied to this... I'm also thinking about his theology on my site/the myfam site. Any thoughts you have (after your stress level decreases) would be very welcome.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments