July 31, 2006

  • self defense...?

    As is probably obvious, I've been thinking some more about "self-defense" recently, and how Christians should view it (and/or practice it).

    I searched online to see if anybody else had written about it, and I found this really excellent article: ( http://www.foxven.com/s-self.html ) and some others supporting its conclusion - that while 'self-defense' may not be biblical, defense of others is quite in line with agape love...

    In the interest of balance, I also read some articles from pacifistic (and even anarchistic) perspectives, such as this one ( http://home.aol.com/XianAnarch/pacifism/streets.htm ).  I found it intriguing that even a pacifist like this would say: "I have physically broken up racial conflicts involving 2-by-4's and chairs. I have taken knives away from people. I may be a "pacifist," but I am a Christian pacifist, and I am not going to stand idly by when someone created in God's Image is physically threatened."

    Very interesting.   What are your thoughts on this issue?

Comments (8)

  • wow. my gut response, when reading this, was that is HAS to be biblical to defend oneself. i mean, it's common sense. it's instinct. but then again... faith often blows common sense and pragmatism out of the water. and i don't recall the disciples defending themselves when they were attacked. that's a challenging, almost frightening idea.

    i definitely believe there's plenty of biblical support for fighting on behalf of others. protecting the innocent, caring for the fatherless and widows, that sort of thing. and of course, all of the God-sanctioned wars in the old testament.

    i would like to think that we're allowed to defend ourselves, too. but i've never studied it. now i'm intrigued.

  • It's very interesting to consider exactly what a pacifist is in the Christian sense. Should we defend others, or should we encourage them to turn the other cheek? I've not worked through all this theologically, but my reaction is that we should fight for others and for the name of Christ. However, I don't know that this view is truly supported in scripture. Yes, we are to care for others, but is defense a form of caring? I don't see any New Testament examples.

  • Hmm...I'm also not sure if I think that defense is a part of the compassionate care that we are to show with others.  How might it be caring to those that we are "fighting?" 

  • Hey Tim! I was cruising through your Xanga site and had to chime in. I think you may know that this is a topic that can, well, get my blood flowing. I've done some serious thinking on this myself. Maybe not as much as I should have, but enough to come up with a position :) . I believe in many ways that this comes down to a matter of conscience because the Bible doesn't spell it out. It is something the believer has to decide on his own to what degree he will use force. I personally believe that it is quite Biblical to use deadly force if necessary to protect others.

    Luke 22:35-38 relates Jesus' instructions to His disciples about the fact that they were headed into a new era as he left the earth and they would be responsible to carry on. These instructions indicate a change from the instructions recorded in the beginning of Matthew 10. In Luke 22:36 Jesus tells the disciples that if they don't have a sword that they are to sell their coat and buy one. Now, I don't believe His main point is to say we all need to carry weapons. The main point was to say "You going to need to provide for yourselves, its not all going to be done for you." So, he tells them to carry the equivalent of a pistol today.

    There is also the passage in Exodus 22:2-3 where it is my understanding that the precedent is set that if you catch someone breaking into your house at night where his intention is unclear (i.e. if he wants to harm you or your family) you are justified in "striking him so that he dies." However, if he breaks into your house during the day, "if the sun has risen on him" when his intent is clearly only theft, then that is murder (an unnecessary kill).

    So, I realize that kind of skirts the issue of whether it is right to fight in self-defense. Some might claim that Matthew 5:38-42 teaches at least pacifism in this regard. I personally believe that this passage refers more to personal insult than a serious attack. Being struck in the face or sued for your tunic and "turning the other cheek" is different from having a knife pulled on you and exposing your throat.

    I have struggled with exactly where I stand on personal defense (e.g. its me and a mugger in an alley by ourselves). I think this is something that must be addressed on a case by case basis. I would probably not use deadly force on a skinny punk teenager who pulled a knife on me, whereas if for some reason I found myself facing someone who was wanted by the law for serious crimes my response would probably be different.

    Ah well, its getting late and I'm hijacking your blog. These are my thoughts. Granted, this is an issue where it is easy to go down the slippery slope of proof texts. I don't believe any of what I have cited proves my position, it simply explains the position I hold. In fact, I'd be interested in your insight - you have a gift for playing devil's advocate (which is a good thing).

  • Thanks for your thoughts, all of you!   I appreciate it...  I'll keep pondering this for now...

  • Hi Tim.  This is an issue which I wonder has to be pondered on an individual level.  Our lives are all so different, depending on our circumstances and where the Lord has us.  My husband and I have been living in the Bronx now for almost 23 years.  When Amanda was 7 years old, we were moving from our apartment into our house.  On a Saturday afternoon, Paul was walking to the store to try and get some empty cartons.  While walking past a nearby park, he saw a man beating up his girlfriend.  Paul knew he had to do something.  He ran over and pushed the guy helling to the girl "run".  She ran and got away.  The man then turned and took his fury out on my husband.  When Paul walked into the apartment, 20 minutes later, his face was black and blue, cut and bleeding.  I was hurt for him, angry, "why Paul, Lord", etc.

    However, what else could Paul have done.  He knew he had to take care of this young girl.  And, even though this other man was much stronger than Paul, and Paul tried to shield himself from the blows, I think he did the right thing.  I was glad he was ok, and I had to say OK Lord, you are in control.

    (does any of this make sense)?  I'm not a very articulate person.

    So - I guess that whether personal defense or defense of another, God shows us at that minute what needs to be done.

    Blessings to your day -

    Mrs. Swift

  • Hi Tim.  Thanks for your note; and, you're welcome.  I sometimes don't articulate well...We've seen so much in the city; even in our own church; we have all, as a body of Christ, had to learn to be street-smart living here.  I still love being here; to see the miricles God has performed in the lives of the children and parents in our neighorhood has always been amazing to me.  And, I believe that Amanda and Peter have really benefited from growing up in an area where you see all walks of life.  Anyway, may the Lord bless you as you serve Him.  We miss your family and hope you are all well.

    In Him,

    Mrs. S.

  • Hi Tim,
    Linked to your site from one of my kids' ... and was sucked into your self-defense question.
    It would be fun to talk at length about this. I was raised by parents from a Mennonite community, so I had to work through the pacifist position. Let's just say I have thought pretty long and hard about the issue, and have come to some very firm conclusions, the first of which is the conviction that life has value only if it is defended, even with the use of deadly force in accordance with scriptural order. The second conviction is that it may be a legitimate act of Christian love to voluntarily forfeit self-defense, if the act of forfeiture is deliberate and in concordance with a Biblical objective.
    I am glad you are seeking to work through these important issues.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments