February 7, 2006

  • freedom of speech... to insult?

    "Freedom of speech doesn't mean you can insult people's most cherished beliefs." Actually, that's precisely what "freedom of speech" means. If only the most inoffensive opinions are protected, what's the point?

     

    This is an interesting quote... What do you all think about it?   I personally think that (1) the cartoons would have been completely inappropriate/unloving for Christians to produce/print, because we are interested in sharing the good news about Christ with the Muslims (but of course the editors/artists probably weren't Christians, so there's a limit to the extent we should expect them to act like Christians), but also that (2) the quote above is correct in that "free speech" is no longer "free" if it must be censored any time it offends someone.

    Does "freedom of speech" mean that I "can" insult people?  Yes...  but SHOULD I insult people?  Of course not.  Those who have been saved by Christ Jesus have been set free "for freedom"!   Here's what the Bible says to those of us who are saved through faith in Christ -

    For you were called to freedom, brethren; only do not turn your freedom into an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

    For the whole Law is fulfilled in one word, in the statement, "You shall love your neighbor as yourself."

Comments (9)

  • This is a delicate issue.  I have been going through my NEO (New Employee Orintation) at USAA and this was a topic that came up today.  Religon, are we aloud to talk about it, where is the line drawn, ect.  Thankfully, USAA does not have a problem with one talking about their religon, bringing their bible to work...ect.  However, they are an inclusive co, where this is allow for everyone and every religon.  Even though these allowances (sp?) are made, we are still required to maintain discretion and avoid offending other employees.  Which is smart, like you said as Christian we are to love our neighbor and one can not do this by insulting them. So should we use the "work" policy in eveyday experinces?  I think it's wise to not offend someone, but it hurts to know your a sinner whether your saved or not.  We don't like to admit our faults, so if that offends someone, then it's a necessary offense.  Which I think makes it's harder to witness at work, one needs to make themselves open, but not push too hard.  Our God is a powerful God and he will use us where he see fit...as long as we obey Him, everything will work out for the good!  My rambling will stop now!   

  • I think that there are two seperate issues here.  Freedom of speech, as an American, should protect my right to say offensive things.  I am not only an American citizen, I am a Christian.  I am supposed to regard others more highly then myself.  Why do Christians think that offending non-believers is going to make them want to know more about our Jesus?  We use the excuse that the gospel itself is offensive to those who don't believe.  Yes, not being able to do anything about our sinfulness hurts our fragile self-esteem and offends.  Many times we want to be able to get our point across and it is much easier to preach at people then to take time and listen to them.  It is hard to love other people.  That's why we don't do it. 

  • Ah, I think what I said came out wrong.  I don't want to go up to someone and say...."your going to hell, because you live with your boyfriend"!  I was thinking more along the lines of the over all picture of man and one's sinful nature possibily offending someone.  My goal is not to pick out the sins, it's not my job to judge.  My goal is to let people know there IS sin, and tell them how they can be redeemed.  My fear at work is when I someone know there IS sin, they might be offended.  And that is where that "delicate" issue comes into play.  What do you think one should to do???  

  • I wish you had been at MSU yesterday.
    My friends were trying to explain to me how it was okay that they ripped off people's posters, bumper stickers, antenna flags etc. that were pro choice. Why was it okay for them to do that? Because people like me "are wrong."

    But could I say anything??? no. not only because i'm wrong from the get go, but because "fundamentalists" and "extremists" have no right to crticize those who are "right"...and to oppress women, and so on and so forth

    does that make any sense to you??? would you even bother arguing?

    yesterday was not very pleasant.

    oh that I could have the heart of romans 9:3

  • oops. in the above comment, i meant to say pro life...

  • i think "freedom of speech" definitely does not mean one can say anything one wants, without any consequence.  Some statements will have adverse consequences, some of which are legal (slander), some of which are societal pressure.  But it's silly to reply to an offended person -- as the European newspapers are -- by saying, "what?  I have freedom of speech!"  Or even better, "We apologize if anyone was offended, but we don't apologize for publishing them."  In other words, "we apologize for something we didn't do and have no control over (what other peopl are offended by), but we categorically don't apologize for the actual thing we did."

    Free speech isn't a moral or ethical justification, in my estimation, it's just a legal principle.  It is essentially giving the citizen not the authority arbitrate, but the responsibility to decipher what is acceptable to say.

    Interestingly, I read that the US issued a statement somewhat negative towards the cartoons, while of course not condoning riots and violence, either.  Interesting times in Europe.

  • very good post.

    call me sometime, or i will call you, or something...

  • yeah, it is a grad program....pretty cool huh??

    rockefeller center...well, st. patrick's cathedral is right around there (50th and 5th, i think).  also, radio city music hall...central park is about 10 blocks north of rockefeller, and times square is about 7-8 blocks south, so those are both doable.  i'll let you know if i think of anything else.

  • Cal Thomas, a Christian conservative columnist, has a somewhat different take on the situation...
    http://www.dfw.com/mld/dfw/news/opinion/13828507.htm

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

(I use 'tags' and 'categories' almost interchangeably... see below)

Recent Comments